A Chicago Cubs Blog
EST. 2007


Join The Bandwagon


Bullpen Brian's Tweets

NL Manager of the Year Award 2011

By bullpenbrian at 10.08.2011 Leave a comment.

Photo by Doug Pensinger/Getty Images

1.) Kirk Gibson, Arizona

No way Arizona wins the West without Gibson at the helm. Having inherited a 65-win team that used 48 different players in 2010, Gibby led a charge to unseat the defending world champs and advance to the postseason as a division winner. What more can be said?

Now the only question is how much longer Arizona will wait to extend his contract with one season remaining on it?

2.) Tony LaRussa, St. Louis

No Adam Wainright. No closer. Pujols missed considerable time. An epic late season comeback from 10-games back of the Wild Card leading Braves. Typical LaRussa–always finding a way, even when battling shingles.

3.) Charlie Manuel, Philadelphia

The Phillies, unquestionably, had the best rotation in baseball–on paper. But they still had to prove it on the field, and did so with little to no offense and World Series expectations to boot.

Manuel pulled all the right strings leading the Phils to the major’s best record (102-60).

NLDS loss aside, Manuel’s bunch couldn’t have been much better during the regular season.

*) Honorable Mentions: Ron Roenicke, MilwaukeeFredi Gonzalez, AtlantaClint Hurdle, Pittsburgh

Tagged with:

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Our Sponsors