A Chicago Cubs Blog
EST. 2007


Join The Bandwagon


Bullpen Brian's Tweets

The Walter Johnson Award

By bullpenbrian at 10.17.2011 1 comment.

Here’s my voting for the BBA’s Walter Johnson Award, given to the best pitcher in each league.


1. Clayton Kershaw, LAD: Made 33 starts, 233.1 IP, 2.28 ERA and won 21 games for a Dodgers team that struggled to score runs. He led the NL in strikeouts with 248 and notched 2 shutouts.

2. Cliff Lee, PHIL: Allowed just 62 earned runs over 232.2 IP, struck out 238 batters and easily led all of baseball with 6 shutouts.

3. Roy Halladay, PHI: Virtually identical stats to Lee, but sported a better ERA 2.35, and led division winning Philly with 19 wins.

4. Ian Kennedy, ARZ: Quietly won 21 games with a 2.88 ERA to help lead Arizona to the West division title.

5. Craig Kimbrel, ATL: Set the rookie saves record with 46, issued only 18 earned runs in 77 IP, good for a 2.10 ERA, but ran out of gas in September.


1. Justin Verlander, DET: Won 24 of 34 starts, topped 250.0 IP (251.0), struck out 250 batters and completed 2 shutouts.

2. James Shields, TB: Led the AL with 4 shutouts, nearly reached 250.0 IP (249.1), struck out 225 batters over 33 starts for the Wild Card winning Rays.

3. Jared Weaver, LAA: 18 wins and a 2.41 ERA with well over 200.0 IP (235.2).

4. CC Sabathia, NYY: His 19 wins and 230 strikeouts only trails Verlander.

5. C.J. Wilson, TEX: Made 34 starts, struck out 206 batters and won 16 games for the West division champion Rangers.


1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Our Sponsors