A Chicago Cubs Blog
EST. 2007


Join The Bandwagon


Bullpen Brian's Tweets

IBWAA Votes Mike Piazza HOF Worthy

By bullpenbrian at 01.09.2013 Leave a comment.

Only one player earned enough votes to be deemed Hall of Fame worthy by the Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) – Mike Piazza, with 79.10%.

Roger Clemens finished third with 52.24%.
Jeff Bagwell & Barry Bonds tied for fourth at 50.75%.
Barry Larkin remains on the IBWAA ballot…not to be confused with the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA).

Lee Smith – 35.82%
Fred McGriff – 13.43%
Sammy Sosa – 8.96%
Rafael Palmeiro – 7.46%
Kenny Lofton – 2.99%
Todd Walker – 0.00%
Rondell White – 0.00%

Each writer gets 10 votes, which I decided to use to select: Bagwell, Biggio, Bonds, Clemens, Larkin, E. Martinez, Piazza, Raines, L. Smith, L. Walker (Schilling will get my vote next year).

IBWAA members include Barry Bloom, Chris Haft and Jim Thomas, MLB.com; Thomas Bonk, Tim Brown, Yahoo! Sports; Jim Caple, Mark A. Simon and David Schoenfield, ESPN.com; Fred Claire, former General Manager, Los Angeles Dodgers; Jonah Keri, Grantland; Joe McDonnell, FoxSportsWest.com; Tom Hoffarth, J.P. Hoornstra and Jill Painter, Los Angeles Daily News; Kevin Baxter, Los Angeles Times; and prominent baseball authors Paul Dickson, Peter Golenbock, Josh Pahigian, John Rosengren and Dan Schlossberg, among others (yours truly).



No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Our Sponsors